The Sons of the Legion organized in June of 1936. The first officers elected were Captain Arthur Breault, Jr., 1st Lieutenant Paul Douglass, 2nd Lieutenant James Brady, Adjutant Frederick Aiken, Treasurer David Chase, Sergeant-at-Arms Sevarin Rodeschin, Chaplain Francis Edes, and Historian Curtis Chase. The Executive Committee was comprised of Andrew Hastings, Wallace Brady and Donald Bagley. Ninety Legion members and prominent Newport citizens attended a banquet to benefit Newport’s Sons of the Legion squadron. Proceeds from the tickets were used to purchase their stand of colors. A parade, from Depot Square to Elm Street to the Town Hall, preceded the installation and presentation of colors at the Town Hall on Friday, June 26. Participants in the parade were the Newport and Keene squadrons of the Sons of the Legion, the Claude J. Brewster Post, the Veterans of Foreign Wars, and the local Anti-Aircraft unit. Sons of Legion pins were given to sixty members. The first Sons of the Legion State Convention was held during the New Hampshire American Legion Convention in Newport in September.

View more history for Post 25 in Newport, New Hampshire