The Karlstad American Legion Post No. 0445 was named for Elwood Monroe Swenson, the first local veteran who was killed during a heavy aerial bombardment at Fort Mills, Philippine Islands, on Dec. 29, 1941.

The first regular meeting was held on Oct.5, 1943. Charter members were: Fred Turnwall, Alvin Turnwall, Julius Carlson, Albert Nordin, Ralph VanDeusen, Alfred Peterson, Otto Pearson,Herman Lindberg, Art Warnes, S.W. Hodne, Walter Hams, Walter Johnson, James Duhek, Harry Brekke, and Axel Paulson.

View more history for Post 445 in Karlstad, Minnesota