Register  |  

Post 12  Yankton, South Dakota



CHARTER DATE: July 7, 1919

POST NAMESAKE: Roy Anderson Sept.21st,1896- Aug.2nd,1917 Roy Anderson was a member of Co. M 4th South Dakota Infantry.He was killed in a accident between Yankton.. Read more »


NOTABLE MEMBERS: The following are the Temporary Charter Members 7 July 1919 A.W. Donaldson, Leo J. Coacher, Ray Rosman,Wm O. Cook, E.D... Read more »

Jump to a decade in the timeline:

1919  1920  1930  1940  1950  1990  2010  

Post #12 received its temporary Charter on July 7th, 1919 with Fred B. Ray as the first Commander and Arnold Fox the first Adjutant. Full story »
Miss Madelin J. Box was the first woman to join Post #12 she was a member in 1921-1922 Full story »
Post #12 held the 9th annual Convention on July 25-27 1927 Dept. Commander was Leroy W. Barnes from White Lake. Full story »
Post #12 received its permanent Charter on March 6th 1931 with Harold W. Levinger as Commander and Basil De Shazo as Adjutant. Full story »
Patrick Haley from Post #12 was elected as the District 7 Commander at the 15th Annual Convention in Huron, Sd. It should also be noted that he held this office from 1933-1937 Full story »
Post #12 hosted the 18th annual convention on August 3-5 1936. Dr. I.I. Schmidt of Faulkton was the Dept. Commander Full story »
John Gurney was elected to the U.S. house of Representatives and served from Jan 3rd 1939- Jan 3rd 1951. John was also a First District Commander and a long time member of Post #12. Full story »
John P. DePagter Adjutant sends the following letter to Congressman Francis Case. Dear Congressman Case: The Roy Anderson Post of the American Legion of Yankton, South Dakota has asked that I send the following resolution to you as an expression of the sentiments of the individual membership of this Post. "Whereas it is evident that there is a World War in the making and half of the world already engaged, and whereas it is also evident that one side is spreading propaganda to prevent the entrance of the United States into that foreign war and the other side spreading propaganda.. Full story »
William Flamming Of Post #12 was elected as Dist. 7 Commander at the 28th Annual Convention Full story »
Yankton held the 31st Annual Department Convention From June 12 - June 14 Full story »
Yankton hosted the 38th Annual Convention on June 18-20 Full story »
Yankton Post #12 hosted the 76th Annual Convention at the Yankton Inn and Convention Center on June 9th - June 11th, 1996. Dept.Commander James T. Anderson Adjutant A.W. Anderson Full story »
Matt Michels was elected Lt. Governor with Dennis Daugaard as Governor on this date. Matt is the 38th Lt. Governor for South Dakota elected to this office. Full story »