Essex is a town in Middlesex County, Connecticut. It is composed of three villages, each with a distinct history and identity, Essex Village, Centerbrook Village and Ivoryton Village. The town is located on the western shore of the Connecticut River, within the river estuary, where the river meets Long Island Sound. It is 10.4 square miles in area and is bordered by the towns of Deep River to the north, Westbrook to the west, Old Saybrook to the south, and by the river to the east. The town, then known as “Potapoug”, was first settled in 1664 as part of the Saybrook Colony. It became a separate incorporated entity in 1852. Essex is renowned for its beautiful harbor and landscapes, majestic trees and gardens, and historic period architecture. Attractions include the Essex Steam Train, the Connecticut River Museum, the Ivoryton Playhouse, the Museum of Fife and Drum, the Griswold Inn and the Copper Beech Inn. The current population is approximately 6800.



The Griswold Inn


Centerbrook Meetinghouse


The Essex Steam Train


Essex Village Green


The Ivoryton Playhouse


Main Street Essex


Main Street Essex


Ivoryton Village Green


View more photo galleries by Post 18 in Essex, Connecticut