Post 205 Janesville, Wisconsin

Post 205

Janesville, Wisconsin

Post 205 Janesville, Wisconsin

About This Post

Post Namesake
Richard Ellis, Member of Co. D, 28th Infantry Division, United States First Division. Was the first Janesville man to be killed in WWI at Cantigney, France. on May 15, 1918.
Notable Members
Malcom McDermot and Robert J. Cunningham, WWI. shared Post Cmdr. 1919-20; Cunningham - State Vice Cmdr. 1919-20, 1920-21, Janesville City Attorney. Dr. L.J. Woodworth, P.C. 1920-21. Ralph J. Kamps, P.C. 1921-22. Dr. W.T. Clark, P.C. 1922-23. Physician John Gross, Sr., ... READ MORE
What Makes this Post Unique
The Post #205 was chartered with (89) members and was the fourth and largest post in Rock County. Janesville is the County Seat and largest city in the county. Richard Ellis Post drew the interests of many professional and business ... READ MORE



Post #205 Participates in Elk's Lodge #254 Flag Day Program

Jun 12, 2015
In keeping with a long tradition, Post #205 again accepted the Elk's invitation to participate in their beautiful Flag Day Program. The four-member Legion Honor Squad with Mel Le Foll, Terry Thostenson, Norm Burns and Tom Roan carried the Post Colors. Featured speaker was Al Funk, Past State Vice Commander and Past State Chaplain and member of The Citizens Flag Alliance.. Funk centered his speech on the 1989 Supreme Court ruling that determined that U.S...
Full Story

Richard Ellis Post No. 205 Annual Picnic

Aug 8, 2015
Twenty five members and wives enjoyed hot dogs and brats with sauerkraut grilled by 1st Vice Cmdr. Mel LeFoll, and a swell picnic luncheon coordinated by Auxiliary Unit Pres. Shannon Little. Cmdr. Susan Knudson made reservations for the pavilion at Sportsman's Park, Highway 51, North. An annual post picnic was revitalized by then Cmdr. Brad Little in 2013. Members learned something about picnic tables the hard way when Cmdr. Knudson and Past Commanders Bob Abb..
Full Story

William "Bill" Babb Installed As 1st Dist. Commander.

Aug 7, 2016
The First District installed the officers for 2016-2018 at the Mukwonago Post #275 and followed with a picnic served by members of the S.A.L. Past State Commander Ted DeMichii, Sommers was the instalimg officer. Ted was State Cmdr. for 1991-92. Bill Babb is the seventh member of Janesville Post #205 to lead the First District. He follows: Robert Cunningham; John Gross; Edgar Jersild; Marvin Roth; John Dooley and Al Funk. The Post's Present Commander, Susan..
Full Story